top of page

The Results: Global Women in Healthcare Awards

Updated: Mar 11

On Saturday 9th March 2024 we were delighted to host the Elsie Inglis Charity Ball at the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, in celebration of the achievements of women in healthcare and to announce the winners of the Global Women in Healthcare Awards.

It was wonderful to be joined by EMMS International's supporters, our panel of judges, guests of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and the shortlisted nominees of the Global Women in Healthcare Awards. We heard speeches from Dr Cathy Ratcliff, CEO of EMMS International, Dr Kerri Baker, Dean of Education at the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, and Professor Linda Bauld OBE, the Bruce and John Usher Chair of Public Health in The Usher Institute at the University of Edinburgh and Chief Social Policy Advisor to the Scottish government.

Professor Linda Bauld OBE FRCPE FRSE FAcSS FFPH Dr Kerri Baker FRCP Edin

The Results: Global Women in Healthcare Awards

The Dr Elsie Inglis Award, sponsored by Edinburgh College
Presented by Prof Angela Thomas OBE for championing sex equality in the medical profession.

Winner: Dr Kate Womersley

Recognised for her work to drive the adoption of a new minimum standard for inclusion of sex and gender in science, changing the face of medical and social research in the UK.

A doctor in Psychiatry, Dr Womersley writes about medicine, gender and women’s health. Her research aims to improve sex and gender equity in biomedical research, funded by the Wellcome Trust.

Dr Kate Womersley

Runner-Up: Dr Amina Khan

Recognised for her pioneering breast conserving surgeries in Pakistan.

Dr. Khan is Surgical Oncologist at the Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital and Research Centre in Lahore, Pakistan.


Donna Brough

Dr Gwenetta Curry

Dr Punam Krishan

Donna Brough Dr Gwenetta Curry

The Rising Star Award, sponsored by Johnston Mailing

Presented by Dr Kerri Baker for demonstrating great potential and dedication to a career in healthcare.

Winner: Dr Maneh Gizhlaryan

Recognised for her work in paediatric haematology and stem cell transplantation (HSCT) in Armenia, benefiting current patients and inspiring other young women to enter medicine, science and academia.

Dr. Gizhlaryan is a Paediatric Haemato-Oncologist at the Paediatric Cancer and Blood Disorders Centre of Armenia, Yeolyan Haematology and Oncology Centre.

Runner-Up: Dr Liana Romaniuk

Recognised for her efforts in caring for children and young people with mental illness. She is a driving force in expanding the knowledge and understanding of how these disorders develop and can be characterised, generating the prospect of tailored treatments.

Dr Romaniuk is Consultant in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Melville Unit, Royal Hospital for Children and Young People, and Edinburgh Senior Clinical Lecturer in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Edinburgh.

Dr Liana Romaniuk and Dr Kerri Baker


Rachel Abeysekera

Dr Budur Almutairi

Dr Lung-Yi Mak

Maggie Njala

Dr Lung-Yi Mak Dr Budur Almutairi

The Outstanding Leader Award, sponsored by Hilary Barnes Graphic Design

Presented by Prof Angela Thomas OBE for supporting other women in their healthcare careers.

Winner: Dr Mumtaz Patel

Awarded for her work in undergraduate and postgraduate medical training to support physicians to fulfil their full potential, promoting leadership and the delivery of patient-centered care.

Dr Patel is Consultant Nephrologist at Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Postgraduate Associate Dean at Health Education England North-West; Director of Conduct and Progress at the School of Medicine, University of Liverpool; and Vice President, Education and Training, at Royal College of Physicians.

Dr Mumtaz Patel

Runner-Up: Dr Vandana Kanth

Recognised for her work to sponsor and mentor vulnerable young women, who are at risk of early marriage, into college, through their studies and into their first jobs in a hospital.

Dr Kanth is EHA Project Leader at Duncan Hospital in Bihar, India, working as a doctor and Assistant Professor of Public Health.


Professor Dame Elizabeth N Anionwu

Michelle Guthrie

Professor Leo Yee-Sin

The Health Tech Award, sponsored by The Mackay Clinic

Presented by Prof Gordon Mackay for championing the advancement of transformative technology and digital education.

Winner: Charlotte Casebourne Stock and Margaret Duffy

Awarded for their work in the oncolytic viral therapy field to benefit cancer patients.

Charlotte Casebourne Stock is Co-Founder and CEO, and Margaret Duffy is Co-Founder and CSO at Theolytics, a pre-clinical stage biotechnology company developing next-generation oncolytic viral therapies.

Runner-Up: Dr Maria Karvela

Recognised for her work to develop a digital genetic testing service that provides users with tailored food and health recommendations based on their DNA.

Dr Karvela is CSO & Co-Founder at DnaNudge, the developer of the world’s first service to use consumers’ own DNA plus lifestyle factors to nudge people towards healthier choices while shopping.

Dr Maria Karvela


Tania Boler

Melissa Morris

Dr Elena Mucci

Many congratulations to all of the nominees and winners of the Global Women in Healthcare Awards 2024 and thanks to our judges.


bottom of page